A duo of musicians who graduated from Lews Castle College’s HNC and BA music courses in Uist are in the running for ‘Album of the Year’ at the MG Alba Trad Music Awards in December.

Christian Gamauf and Jamie MacDonald say: “We're absolutely over the moon to hear news today that our CD 'The Pipe Slang' has made the long list for album of the year at the ScotsTradMusicAwards!

“If you would like to give us a vote you can use the link below. Make sure to nominate your favourite bands, singers and musical organisasions etc as well in all the various categories.


The chance of voting ends on 14th October.

The MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards celebrate excellence in traditional music in 18 categories with the prestigious prizes encompassing all aspects of traditional music including Composer of the Year Award sponsored by PRS for Music, the Belhaven Bursary for Innovation in Music which is equalled in cash only by the Mercury Music Prize and was last year awarded to neo-trad quintet, Elephant Sessions. The award of £25,000 is accompanied by a craft beer brewed in the winner’s name. The winners will be unveiled in front of an audience of music fans and industry at Perth Concert Hall on 1st December 2018.

Organising body, Hands Up for Trad was formed in 2002 and exists to increase the profile and visibility of Scottish Traditional Music through information, education and advocacy.

Hands Up for Trad’s Creative Director Simon Thoumire said: “It is very exciting to begin the 2018 MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards. It’s been another exciting year with lots of fabulous albums released and gigs played. Thanks again to all our sponsors and partners for making the Scots Trad Music Awards possible.”

Communications Manager for MG ALBA, Murdo MacSween, said: “The MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards are a stand-out event in the Scottish music calendar and we’re proud to work with Hands up for Trad to showcase world class talent and the height of creativity.”

The longlist for Trad Album of the Year includes 25 albums:

Air Fàir an Là by Niteworks

alterum by Julie Fowlis

Bare Knuckle by Chris Stout and Catriona McKay

Ellipsis by Fourth Moon


Glasgow by Findlay Napier

In Praise of Home by Rura

Inyal by Inyal

Notes from the boat by Mike Vass

Pipes by John Mulhearn

Punch by The Poozies

Sanctuary by Ross Ainslie

Sandwood by Duncan Chisholm

SOLO by Sarah-Jane Summers

Some Other Land by Adam Sutherland

Sròmos by James Duncan Mackenzie

Symbiosis II by Ross Ainslie and Ali Hutton

Tales From The North by Calum Stewart

The Key by Blazin’ Fiddes

The Morning Tempest by Josie Duncan & Pablo Lafuente

The Pipe Slang by Jamie MacDonald & Christian Gamauf

The Railway by Hamish Napier

The Rough Bounds by Daimh

The Seer by Lauren MacColl

Undersong by Salt House

The longlist will now be whittled down to a shortlist of ten albums which is decided by 50% industry panel and 50% public.