Contact us on 01851 705743 or

      General News

Acair has been nominated for Publisher of the Year at Scotland's National Book Awards.

The Western Isles publisher Acair is among a select six who have been shortlisted for 2023’s publisher of the year category at Scotland's National Book Awards, it was announced on Friday (1 December). 

The Stornoway-based publisher is already shortlisted in three other categories, but described it as ‘a particular pleasure’ to be rubbing shoulders with big-name publishers like Birlinn, Canongate and Edinburgh University Press in the battle for position as publisher of the year.

Acair manager Angus Morrison said: "To be shortlisted for publisher of the year at Scotland's national book awards is a great boost to us all at Acair and a real testament to the consistent quality of books we produce across a range of genres, in Gaelic, in English and bilingually. 

“Our thanks are due to our talented authors for trusting Acair with their works and it is also testament to a small but dedicated and talented staff team."

The Saltire Society published the shortlist of authors, titles and publishers for the Scottish National publishing industry awards on Friday, saying that the lists ‘exemplify the powerhouse that is the Scottish publishing industry.’

The publisher of the year shortlisting for Acair comes alongside earlier announcements of shortlisted places for Acair publications Cha Till Mise by Ruaraidh Macilleathain as research book of the year, Ian Hart’s The Whales of Harris as history book of the year and Crann-fige/Fig tree by Duncan Gillies as fiction book of the year.

All the awards are to be presented at a ceremony in Glasgow on Thursday (7 December). 

The picture shows Acair’s manager Angus Morrison (left) and designer Margaret Anne Macleod (right) at a presentation of royalties from the food and landscape book Haar, published posthumously on behalf of chef Murdo Alex Macritchie. Also in the picture are Joanne Ferguson and Carol Somerville of Bethesda and Murdo Alex’s sister Kathleen Macdonald.