The 2018 Donald Stewart Memorial Trust competition was launched today, Monday 5th March 2018.

The Trust which was established to commemorate the outstanding work of the late Donald Stewart MP, makes an annual award to an individual 5th or 6th year pupil from any of the secondary schools in the Western Isles for, “outstanding achievement”.

The “outstanding achievement” can be attained within the school, perhaps an academic achievement which has been recognised as outstanding at a national or indeed inter-national level or can be for someone who has attained “outstanding achievement” in their own community, perhaps an act of outstanding community service or an act of bravery or other self-sacrifice.

All four secondary schools in the Western Isles are now invited to make nominations of pupils they deem worthy of the Award.  These nominations will then be assessed by Trustees as they go through the process of choosing this year’s winner. 

The 2017 Award was won by Catriona Bain, from Gress, Isle of Lewis, a former pupil of The Nicolson Institute.

The Trust itself welcomes three new Trustees to its membership: Uilleam Macdonald, replacing Murdo Macleod as the Comhairle representative; Lesley Graham, replacing Councillor Philip McLean and Iain MacAulay filling a long-term vacancy on the Trust.  Margaret Martin and Calum Iain Macleod are the other two members of the Trust.

At its recent meeting Margaret Martin was appointed as Chair of the Trust.

Further information on the Trust’s work can be obtained from Calum Iain Macleod, Secretary.

(E-mail) This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; (T) 01851 701802