An election is being held to elect Crofting Commissioners from the six crofting constituencies - Shetland, Orkney and Caithness, East Highlands (East Sutherland, Easter Ross, East Inverness and Moray), Western Isles, West Highlands (West Sutherland, Wester Ross. Skye and Lochalsh) and South West Highlands (Lochaber, Argyll and Bute, Arran and Cumbrae, Small Isles).

One Commissioner will be elected from each constituency and will, along with the three Commissioners appointed by the Scottish Government, make up the Board of the Crofting Commission.

Nomination forms and other documents relating to the election can be downloaded from ; obtained on request, by e- mail to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; or from the Election Offices detailed in the Notice of Election. Completed nomination forms must be submitted by Thursday 26 January 2017.

An election will be held in each contested constituency by postal ballot, with votes having to be returned by 4.00pm on Thursday 16 March 2017.  

The count will take place in the Town Hall, Point Street, Stornoway, Isle of Lewis HS1 2XF on Friday 17 March 2017 at 10.00am.