Contact us on 01851 705743 or

SNP MSP Alasdair Allan said on social media today that he was "delighted to see the first woman elected to Comhairle nan Eilean Siar for some years is the SNP’s Sue Thomson, representing the islands of South Uist, Eriskay and Benbecula."

Sue polled 221 first preference votes.

This was the first result to be declared in the local council elections for the Islands which took place yesterday (Thursday May 5) 

Also elected in the same ward were Paul Francis Steele (275)  and Iain Murdoch Macleod (177). 

Also elected to CnES was former SNP UK Parliamentary candidate Frances Murray. 

After the 2017 election, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar was the only local authority in Scotland to have no female representation. This situation ended today, when SNP candidates Susan Thomson in Uibhist A Deas, Èirisgeigh Agus Beinn Na Faoghla and Frances Murray in Steòrnabhagh A Deas were elected.

A line-up of all the SNP councillors along with MSP Alasdair Allan

Alasdair Allan commented:“I would like to congratulate all newly elected councillors. There are a range of challenges facing the islands and I look forward to working with them all in the years to come.

“I’m particularly delighted to see Susan and Frances elected. The Western Isles has had the unwelcome distinction of being the only area in Scotland to have no female councillors, and it’s fantastic that two SNP candidates have ended this.

"It’s also very welcome to see Mustapha Hocine elected as the first BAME councillor in the Western Isles.

“This has been a really good result for the SNP locally. The campaign has been very positive and I’m delighted they have been able to maintain their size while the overall number of councillors was reduced.”

The full result from Steòrnabhagh A Deas was as follows 

Frank Stephen BURNS Independent     94
Archie MACDONALD     Independent     111
Rae MACKENZIE   Scottish National Party (SNP) 287
Callum Ian MACMILLAN Independent     101
Angus MCCORMACK      Independent     283
FRANCES MURRAY   Scottish National Party (SNP)   203
GEORGE MURRAY     Independent      367
 Total   1,446



The full result from Steòrnabhagh A Tuath was as follows:

Tracey DINNER Independent       57
lain Maclean MACAULAY      Independent       242
Malcolm Kenneth MACDONALD Independent       201
Duncan MACINNES Independent       271
Calum Barney MACKAY    Independent       134
John Murdo MACMILLAN Independent       12
Maxi MACNEILL Independent       23
Willie MACRAE  Independent       44
Malcolm Ivor MCTAGGART Independent       55
Gordon MURRAY  Scottish National Party (SNP) 315
 Total     1,354

In the Sgire nan Loch ward, Angus Morrison and Robert Mackenzie were elected as Councillors.  The votes were Angus Morrison 425, Robert Mackenzie 262, Annie Macdonald 83 and Norman Smith 81.