Scots Gaelic has become one of 13 new languages to be added to open translation website Google Translate.

Na h-Eileanan an Iar SNP MSP Alasdair Allan – the Scottish Government Minister responsible for Scotland's languages – welcomed the news.

He said: “Gaelic is part of our identity and culture and is used every day in communities across Scotland and I welcome Google's move to make the language more accessible to people around the world.

“The Scottish Government is committed to supporting the teaching of the language and inspiring the next generation of Gaelic speakers,” Dr Allan continued.

“Our aim is to increase the numbers learning, speaking and using the language and hope that the Google Gaelic translation tool can mane an important contribution towards this.”

Also new to Google Translate are languages Amharic (Ethiopia); Corsican (Island of Corsica, France); Frisian (Netherlands/Germany); Kyrgyz (Kyrgyzstan); Hawaiian; Kurdish (Kurmaji, Turkey/Iraq/Iran/Syria); Luxembourgish (Luxembourg); Samoan (Samoa/America Samoa); Shona (Zimbabwe); Sindhi (Pakistan/India); Pashto (Afghanistan/Pakistan), and Xhosa (South Africa).

The 13 new additions take the number of languages covered by Google Translate to 103, covering 99% of the online population.